Cal Poly Symphony Concert: Student Soloist Showcase, Finlandia and The Moldau


  • Presented By: Cal Poly Music Department
  • Dates: March 1, 2020
  • Location: Performing Arts Center
  • Address: 1 Grand Ave San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
  • Phone: 805-756-2406
  • Time: 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
  • Price: $12 & $14 general, $9 & $12 students

The Cal Poly Symphony’s Winter Concert will showcase the talents of student soloists at 3 p.m. Sunday, March 1, in the Performing Arts Center. The concert will highlight performances by winners of the Cal Poly Music Department’s Solo Competition in November. The instrumentalists are hornist Marianna Pallas, who will perform Camille Saint-Saëns’ “Romance in F Major,” Op. 36; violinist Timothy Shanks, who will play Saint-Saëns’ “Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso”; and flutist Talia Phillips-Ortega, who will perform Arthur Foote’s “A Night Piece.” The vocalists are soprano Molly Gooch, who will sing Jules Massenet’s “Frère! Voyez! … Du gai soleil” from “Werther”; soprano Annemarie Schalde, who will perform Giuseppe Verdi’s “Volta la terrea” from “Un ballo in maschera”; soprano Jenna Hansen, who will sing Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Deh vieni non tardar” from “Le nozze di Figaro” and bass Joshua Mueller, who will perform Jerry Bock's “If I Were a Rich Man” from “Fiddler on the Roof.” The symphony will also perform Bedřich Smetana’s “The Moldau” and Jean Sibelius’ “Finlandia.”  “Finlandia” will be conducted by music major Kent Giese. 

Visitors Magazine
Plan Your Adventure Today
get my guide
book your stay