Cal Poly Symphony Fall Concert: Gabrielian Plays Shostakovich


  • Presented By: Cal Poly Music Department
  • Dates: December 3, 2021
  • Location: Performing Arts Center
  • Address: 1 Grand Avenue, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
  • Phone: (805) 756-2406
  • Time: 7:30 PM
  • Price:

The Cal Poly Symphony returns to performing for an in-person audience at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 3, in the Performing Arts Center. For the concert, titled “Gabrielian Plays Shostakovich,” the symphony welcomes guest soloist Tanya Gabrielian, hailed by the London Times as “a pianist of powerful physical and imaginative muscle,” to perform Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2. In addition to performing internationally, Gabrielian is passionate about community engagement, education and activism through art. She has collaborated with the National Alliance on Mental Illness in programs highlighting the stigma around mental health issues, and with other artists in multidisciplinary projects that have earned her international recognition. The program will feature composers with mental illness: Sergei Rachmaninoff, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and Robert Schumann, in addition to Shostakovich. Tickets for the concert are sold at the Cal Poly Ticket Office,  805-756-4849. For more information, visit the Music Department calendar website or call 805-756-2406.

Visitors Magazine
Plan Your Adventure Today
get my guide
book your stay
Powered by: