Cal Poly Symphony Opens Its Season with Music by Jacob, Walker, Beethoven


  • Presented By: Cal Poly Music Department
  • Dates: December 4, 2020
  • Address: Online San Luis Obispo
  • Phone: (805) 756-2406
  • Time: 7:30 PM to 8:15 PM
  • Price:

Cal Poly’s Symphony will present music of Gordon Jacob, George Walker and Ludwig van Beethoven in its fall virtual presentation at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 4. In addition to the 20-minute concert portion, student musicians will be interviewed about their experiences with the challenging process of preparing for and presenting a concert during a pandemic, and videos from fall quarter rehearsals will be shown. The program will begin with the first movement of Jacob’s “Old Wine in New Bottles,” a collection of old English folk tunes. The program will continue with Walker’s “Lyric for Strings.” His career included many firsts for a Black instrumentalist: he was the first to perform in Manhattan’s Town Hall, the first to perform with the Philadelphia Orchestra, the first to be signed by a major management, the first to earn a doctorate from the Eastman School of Music, and in 1996, he became the first Black composer to be awarded the Pulitzer Prize in music. The program will also include the second movement of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 in A Major, which was composed between 1811 and 1812. Tickets to the virtual event are $5 and can be purchased online from the Performing Arts Center. To order by phone, call 805-SLO-4TIX (805-756-4849) between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Visitors Magazine
Plan Your Adventure Today
get my guide
book your stay
Powered by: