Cal Poly Symphony Presents Tchaikovsky 4 and Café Musique


  • Presented By: Cal Poly Music Department
  • Dates: June 8, 2019
  • Location: Performing Arts Center
  • Address: 1 Grand Ave San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
  • Phone: 805-756-2406
  • Time: 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM
  • Price: $12 & $14 general, $9 & $12 students

The symphony will pair the art of tango with personal struggles against fate in its Spring Concert in the Performing Arts Center. The orchestra will be joined by guest ensemble Café Musique for performances of two tangos in the first half — Jacob Gade’s “Jalousie” and Carlos Gardel’s “Por una Cabeza,” both arranged by Tim Simonec, a notable film score composer. Café Musique has performed around the world and on the stages of several world-class music festivals. The group has shared the stage with the David Grisman Quintet, Los Lobos and Doc Severinsen. The group is comprised of violinist Brynn Albanese, accordionist Duane Inglish, guitarist Craig Nuttycombe, Fred Murray, who plays bass and sings, and Eric Williams, who plays guitar, ukulele, bouzouki and sings. Albanese also teaches violin at Cal Poly. The second half of the program will feature Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F minor. In a rare departure, the Russian composer explained the meaning of this work — “fate, the decisive force which prevents our hopes of happiness from being realized” — in a letter to his patron, Nadezhda Filaretovna von Meck. Symphony Director David Arrivée will conduct the concert. 

Visitors Magazine
Plan Your Adventure Today
get my guide
book your stay