Chamber Series: Mozart to Modernity


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – String Quintet in C minor, K. 406
Guillaume Connesson – Sextet for violin, viola, oboe, clarinet, bass and piano

Connesson - Techno Parade
Max Bruch – Piano Quintet in G minor


Originally composed as a wind serenade, Mozart adapted this work for strings to complete a set of three quintets for a waiting publisher. Bruch composed his romantic piano quintet for amateur musicians, including the chairman of his then employer, the Liverpool Philharmonic. In between are two selections by acclaimed contemporary French composer Guillaume Connesson. His festive sextet for this unusual ensemble was written for a New Year’s celebration concert and Techno Parade is a one-movement work that features a continuous beat from start to finish.
Generously sponsored by Diane and Marty Moroski

The Chamber Series is sponsored by KUSC Classical Radio

TIP: Join the musicians for a Notable Encounter to learn about Max Bruch and his piano quintet at 5:30 p.m. before this concert (tickets sold separately). Need a quick bite in between shows? Join our Picnic in the Courtyard featuring boxed dinners from SLO Provisions.

Visitors Magazine
Plan Your Adventure Today
get my guide
book your stay