Notable Encounter Insight: Bach Cello Suites


Cellist Jonah Kim takes you on a tour behind Bach's suites for solo cello, masterpieces that are staples of the cello repertoire. Generally considered to be some of the most profound music in existence, each suite begins with a prelude followed by five Baroque dance movements. Jonah will discuss his take on learning and performing these pieces as well as the historical and musical context in which Bach composed. At this event, Jonah will perform highlights from these works:

J. S. BACH – Suite No. 1 in G major for solo cello, BWV 1007

J. S. BACH – Suite No. 5 in C minor for solo cello BMV 1011

J. S. BACH – Suite No. 3 in C major for solo cello BMV 1009

Visitors Magazine
Plan Your Adventure Today
get my guide
book your stay